2015 Achievement Awards at CEC

CCRCE News: 
Friday, June 12, 2015

On June 3, the Cobequid Educational Centre (CEC) held its annual Achievement Night to recognize students who have contributed to various aspects of student life while maintaining creditable academic standing. Students who maintain a commendable academic record throughout the year and have satisfactory attendance, while accumulating six or more participation points are eligible for an Achievement Award. Students who receive an award in each of their three years at CEC received a Distinction Award in their graduating year.

In addition, International Student certificates, students who achieved academic recognition in externally administered Mathematics competitions and Rick Hansen School Program Awards were presented.  The evening was concluded by recognizing some of CEC's Grade 10, 11 and 12 students with some special awards.

Special Award Recipients

William H. Faltenhine Scholarship: Nathaniel Singer

The Hugh Gilchrist Dickson Memorial Bursary: Hayden MacKenzie

The Jean Muir Award: Therese McCurdy

The Ernest H. Abbott Awards: 

  • Emma MacEachern, Grade 10 Female Recipient 
  • Stephen Fitzgerald, Grade 10 Male Recipient 
  • Judith LaPierre, Grade 11 Female Recipient 
  • Cory Knockwood, Grade 11 Male Recipient

Brian Scallion and Dianne Powell Scholarship: Mike van der Poel

High School Musical Award: Grace Tompkins 

The Association of Professional Engineers of Nova Scotia Award: Sam Hames

Teresa Marshall Award: Alicia Cooke 

Lieutenant Governor Medals: 

  • Mary Maclean 
  • Fraser Robinson 

Photo courtesy of Jody O'Brien. Back Row, L to R: Sam Hames, Cory Knockwood, Stephen Fitzgerald, Hayden MacKenzie and Alicia Cooke. Front Row, L to R: Grace Tompkins, Emma MacEachern, Judith LaPierre, Mary MacLean, Nathaniel Singer, Therese McCurdy and Fraser Robinson. (Missing from the photo is Mike van der Poel.)